2016 TEAM NSW Head Coaches Announced

The NSW Touch Association is pleased to announce the Head Coaches positions for the 2016 State of Origin Series to be held in NSW.

Team NSW Program Heads, Tony Trad and Peter Forrester, have undertaken an extensive review, research and interview process involving the General Manager, Dean Russell and the NSW Technical Director Ian Matthew and have made their recommendations to the Board which have been accepted.

All unsuccessful candidates will be discussed with the Head Coaches by the Program Heads for Assistant Coach roles along with those whom have specifically applied for Assistants roles while the office will liaise with the Coaches around the Managers positions. We anticipate being in a position to finalise the team management by the end of September. In accordance with process, now that the Head Coaches have been appointed the State Selectors Panel will make recommendations to the Board on the State Team Leaders for the 2016 State of Origin Series. All appointments for team management and team leaders will remain in place until the conclusion of the 2016 State of Origin Series.

“We are really pleased with the continued work of Tony and Peter in giving us the best possible coaching appointments to retain the 2016 Series. We have every confidence that the coaches along with the selectors will once again produce a series win for Team NSW.” stated NSWTA General Manager Dean Russell.

NSW Touch Association President Aileen May added “The Board is very pleased with the appointments and we wish the successful applicants all the very best for the series. The work starts now to make sure we are once again State of Origin Champions.”

The 2016 State of Origin Head Coach Appointments are:-

Men’s Open- Paul Sfier
Women’s Open- Wade Jenkins
Mixed Open- Daniel Rushworth
Men’s 20- Mark Boland
Women’s 20- Danny Goodwin
Men’s 30- Keith Rozairo
Women’s 30- Graham Fleming
Men’s 35- Mick McDonald
Women’s 35- Peter Nderia
Men’s 40- Jason Martin
Women’s 40- Scott Oliver
Men’s 45- Peter Vincent
Men’s 50- Mick McCall
Men’s 55*- Bruce Agar

* A decision on Men’s 55 being a full State of Origin division after its invitational status in 2014 is being discussed by both the NSWTA & QTA and will be finalised within the month.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest