Vawdon Cup Grand Finalists Decided

Defending Premiers in each of the top divisions will have the opportunity to go back to back after reaching the Vawdon Cup Grand Finals on October 29. Wests Magpies Men’s Premier League, Manly Sea Eagles Women’s Premier League and Easts Roosters in Mixed Division 1 will be defending their titles come Saturday.

In the Men’s Premier League we will see a replay of the unforgettable 2015 Final which saw the Magpies and Panthers duel it out and eventual go to a drop off before the stoic Garry Sonda and mercurial Dylan Hennessey clinched victory for the Magpies. Both teams fought it out in round 11 with Penrith winning on the back of the leadership of Australian Men’s Open Captain Nick Good who was also recently crowned the Boland Medal winner at the NSWTA Blues Dinner. With high end performers littered throughout each of the teams the Grand Final could very well top the 2015 epic.

The Women’s Premier League sees youth against experience with the youthful Manly Sea Eagles trying to topple the always formidable Canterbury Bulldogs. The Sea Eagles took the title in 2015 after being beaten in 2014 by their Grand Final now opponent. The Bulldogs have the ageless Louise Winchester and the current Smith Medalist Claire Tandek. Claire has been in career defining form and deservedly swept the field to claim the Smith Medal. The undefeated Sea Eagles have already tasted victory over Canterbury once this season in round 11 and hoping to do the same come Saturday and no doubt hope their names are etched on the Cup.

Easts Roosters continue to dominate the Mixed Division and will also be facing their 2014 opponent in the Wests Magpies. The Roosters will be attempting their 7th straight victory in the division, and if successful will equal the record number of consecutive wins in the event with the Sutherland Women’s Open from 1985-1991. A slight twist in this game with see Roy Prasad leading the Magpies against the Chooks after being a central figure for them in 2015’s title.

A very impressive club performance will see the West Magpies being represented in each of the Men’s Divisions Grand Finals that they have entered with Men’s Premier League, Men’s Division 1, Men’s Division 3 and Boy’s Youth League. Not to be outdone Manly Sea Eagles are also flapping their wings with joy with each the Women’s Premier League, Division 1 and Girl’s Youth League featuring.

To view the full draw for the Grand Finals please see below;

Time Field Division Type Team Team
11:30:00 AM 1 MD2 CHAM Canterbury Bulldogs Penrith Panthers
11:30:00 AM 2 WD2 CHAM Canterbury Bulldogs Norths Bears
11:30:00 AM 3 MD3PL PLATE Bankstown Jets Hills Hornets
11:30:00 AM 4 INCL CHAM Hills Hornets Penrith Panthers
Time Field Division   Team Team
12:20:00 PM 1 WD1 CHAM Easts Roosters Manly Sea Eagles
12:20:00 PM 2 MD3 CHAM Wests Magpies Northern Beaches Renegades
12:20:00 PM 3 MD2PL PLATE Central Coast Dolphins Hornsby Lions
12:20:00 PM 4 BYLPL PLATE Manly Sea Eagles Easts Roosters
Time Field Division   Team Team
1:20:00 PM 1 MD1 CHAM Central Coast Dolphins Wests Magpies
1:20:00 PM 2 BYL CHAM Penrith Panthers Wests Magpies
1:20:00 PM 3 WD2PL PLATE Hills Hornets St George Dragons
1:20:00 PM 4 WD1PL PLATE Wests Magpies Sydney University Lions
Time Field Division   Team Team
2:10:00 PM 1 MX1 CHAM Easts Roosters Wests Magpies
2:10:00 PM 2 GYL CHAM Manly Sea Eagles Central Coast Dolphins 2
2:10:00 PM 3 MD1PL PLATE UNSW Bullets Parramatta Eels
2:10:00 PM 4 INCLPL PLATE Manly Sea Eagles Wests Magpies
Time Field Division   Team Team
3:00:00 PM 1 WPL CHAM Manly Sea Eagles Canterbury Bulldogs
3:00:00 PM 2 GYLPL PLATE Balmain Tigers Carlingford Cyclones
3:00:00 PM 3 MX2 CHAM Appin Warriors LBM Rangers
3:00:00 PM 4
Time Field Division   Team Team
4:00:00 PM 1 MPL CHAM Penrith Panthers Wests Magpies

For more information on the Vawdon Cup please view:


Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest