In 2019 we were quoted as saying “It was always going to be a State Cup like never before”.  Fast forward 12 months and it feels like déjà vu.

With a submission to allow four (4) zones across the precinct to allow up to 500 persons at any one time. (including participants, officials) in the hands of the Government, all we could do was wait.

Then on the 5th of November, the Health Minister the Hon Brad Hazard approved our submission.


Given the large number of participants at the State Cup and the need to adhere to the PHO and NSW Health exemption and advice, the event would be played under the Arrive Play Leave Protocol.

It would also be a non-spectator event.

And again, we found ourselves saying “It was always going to be a State Cup like never before”.


Hornsby too good for the boys from the Hunter

Within 3 minutes much like the Womens Open Game, Doyalson took the lead when a quick pass from Thompson saw Wilton find the try line. It must of been Willie Bishops change of boot for the finals as the game stepped up a notch and 4 minutes later Hornsby hit back with a short pass to Kennedy and things started to heat up. With 10 minutes left of the game the scores were tied until a little pop pass to Toner saw Hornsby take the lead 3-4. In the end Hornsby were just too strong taking the win 4-2 and back to back State Cup Titles.

A showdown for birds

The last time they met each other in a State Cup Grand Final was 2014. After going down 4-1 in the round games to Manly, Wests started strong, and by the 3-minute mark Vanessa Da Pra games Wests the early lead.

With Many throwing everything at Wests they finally hit back with Sammy Rodgers scoring in the corner not once but twice.  With a minute to go Many sealed the deal taking the win 3-1 and back-to-back titles.

Rewatch all the highlights by visiting our YouTube Page – Click Here

Championship Finals Results

Men’s Open A – Hornsby 4 Def. Doyalson 2 *

Player of the Final: Maurie Kennedy (Hornsby)

Women’s Open A – Manly Sea Eagles 3 Def Wests Magpies 1*

Player of the Final: Sarah Peattie (Manly Sea Eagles)

Mixed Open – Hill Hornets 3 Def. Wallsend2 *

Players of the Final: Beau Montgomery (Hills) Amy White (Wallsend)

Mixed Open Plate – Maitland 8 Def. South West Raptors 4 *

Player of the Final: Riley Jones and Simone Sing (Maitland)

Men’s Open B Championship – Parramatta 5 Def Canberra City 3 *

Player of the Final: Luke Osbourne (Parramatta)

Men’s Open B Plate – Wallsend Wolves 6 Def. Ballina 4 *

Player of the Final:

Women’s Open B Championship – Parramatta 3 Def. Wests Magpies 1 *

Player of the Final: Tyler Piligra (Parramatta)

Women’s Open B Plate – Wollongong (2) 4 Def. Parkes 1 *

Player of the Final: Anne-Marie O’Flynn (Wollongong)

Men’s 20 – Port Makos 8 Def. City of Orange 1 *

Player of the Final: Brent Nixon (Port Makos)

Women’s 20 – City of Orange 4 Def. Manly Sea Eagles 1 *

Player of the Final: Sophie Banks (City of Orange)

Men’s Seniors (O/30) – Central Coast 3 Def. Manly Sea Eagles 1 *

Player of the Final:

Women’s Seniors (O/30) – Cronulla Sharks 5 Def. Manly Sea Eagles3 *

Player of the Final: Leia Ayoub (Cronulla Sharks)

Mixed Seniors (O/30) – Newcastle 7 Def Cronulla Shark 6 *

Players of the Final: Jamie McSpadden and Ashley Miller (Newcastle)

Men’s Masters (O/40) – Wests Magpies 5 Def Canberra City Magic 4 *

Player of the Final: Michael Jacono (Wests Magpies)

Women’s Masters (O/40) – Wallsend 2 Def. Canberra City Magic 1 *

Player of the Final: Kellie-Jean Johnston (Wallsend)

Mixed Masters (O/40) – Peninsula Piranhas 6 Def. Port Makos 2 *

Players of the Final: Rod Dillon and Karina Haddin (Peninsula)

Men’s 50 – Deakin Thunder 4 Def Newcastle City 2 *

Player of the Final: Matt Pang (Deakin Thunder)

Men’s 55 – Penrith Panthers 3 Def. Ballina 1 *

Player of the Final:  Kevin Thorsby (Penrith)

Men’s 60s – Manly Sea Eagles 1 Def Newcastle 0 *

Player of the Final:  Gary Simmons (Penrith)


Club Championship

1st – Manly Sea Eagles (133 points)

2nd – Western Suburbs (89 points)

Ron Andrews Cup (Country Club Championship)

1st – Newcastle City (79 points)

2nd – Central Coast (77 Points)


To find out the results of all divisions and competitions, please view here.


Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest