After Round 6, the voting for the 2016 Boland and Smith Medal went behind closed doors. At the time runner up for the last two years, Canterbury’s Claire Tandek lead the Smith Medal with an incredible 15 points. Manly’s 2014 winner Laura Peattie and Wests Tina Mohi were both chasing hard. The questions begs if Tandek’s brilliant early season form will continue through the remainder of the competition to win her first Smith medal, or will the chasers catch her?

In the Boland Medal the leader board was tight with two time winner Dylan Hennessey and Manly’s Simon Lang at the top, but with three young guns are hot on their heels and all within a game of hitting the lead. Parramatta’s Jordan Marshall-King, Hornsby’s Cairan Toner and Penrith’s Nicholas Good are all putting the heat on the leaders and with such a tight leader board the final count will certainly be exciting.

The Medal Count and Medal presentations will take place as part of the Gala Blues Dinner on Saturday October 15 in the Grand Ballroom of Bankstown Sports Club. Tickets for the event are $80 and available to be purchased here.

If your Affiliate’s wishes to have a table please contact Kylie Hearne of our office by Friday of this week.

Claire Tandek Canterbury 15
Laura Peattie Manly 11
Tina Mohi Wests 10
Tayla Duguid Penrith 7
Ainsley Hughes Central Coast 6
Tayla Merrick Wollongong 6
Mel McCall Wollongong 5
Nita Manyard Easts 5
Louise Winchester Canterbury 4
Annabelle Wright Norths 4
Danielle Davis Manly 4
Shoko Kishi Easts 4

Dylan Hennessey Wests 12
Simon Lang Manly 12
Jordon Marshall King Parramatta 11
Ciaran Toner Hornsby 10
Matt Prowse Canterbury 8
Nicholas Good Penrith 7
Terry Deegan Wollongong 7
Daniel Langbridge Doyalson 7
Trent Touma Wests 6
Cameron Nichols Wests 6
Daniel Stone Bankstown 6
Scott Buckley Penrith 6
Scott Bundy Doyalson 6

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Dubbo Touch ready to tap off