We are extremely please to announce the finalist for the 2015/2016 NSWTA Awards.

The NSWTA Awards recognise excellence in all endeavors of our sport and organisation. The Gala Blues Dinner where the awards are handed out is the most important night on the NSWTA calendar. It is the night that give us the opportunity to publicly celebrate the efforts and achievements of our amazing volunteers, with the Rod Wise Medal for the Volunteer of the Year being the nights major award. The Awards will also recognise those outstanding Affiliates and Administrators from all six Regions prior to naming State Winners in each category. We also will find out which Region has been adjudged the best for the past 12 months in all aspects of their operations.

Our technical arm of the sport is also recognised and celebrated as we name the Male and Female players of the year in three categories, Opens. Juniors and Seniors. We find out who the best coaches are for our Juniors as well as overall with one person being named Coach of the Year. We also will recognise the Ian Matthew Medal winner for the years best Referee and find out who states Top Selector was. Also in a year of a lot of great performances we will name the Team of Year for 2015-16.

One of the most prestigious parts of the evening is where we name our Blues Awards recipients. Blues Awards have a proud history of recognising excellence, longevity, passion and performance of volunteers at every level of our sport. We will be naming the Blues Awards nominees next week as the high esteem in which we hold this category we feel needs its own separate recognition.

The NSWTA Awards will be handed out at our Gala Blues Dinner to be held in the Grand Ballroom of Bankstown Sports Club on Saturday October 15 and will be MC’s by the fabulous Joel Caine and will again include the Smith and Boland Medal count. The Dinner is part of the NSWTA State Conference and we encourage all members of the NSWTA to attend both the Dinner and the Conference. Details of the State Conference will be released shortly as will ticketing information to the Gala Blues Dinner.

Congratulations to all the finalists, with over 120,000 members of the NSWTA is a great achievement to be listed as a finalist in the Awards of hte sports biggest and best state. Those named as finalist will be contacted over the next week with relevant information on the evening. We look forward to all of our finalist attendance so we can as sport celebrate their tremendous efforts over the past 12 months.

The 2015-16 NSWTA Award Finalists are:

Volunteer of the Year (Rod Wise Medal)

Ben Cooper-Young Touch Association
Melinda Walls-Maitland Touch Association/Hunter Western Hornets
Neil Webster-Dubbo Touch Association
Victor Baptista-Western Suburbs Touch Association/Sydney Mets
Min Cotter-Port Macquarie Touch Association
Mitch Alexander-Murwillumbah Touch Association
Graham Knights-Manly Warringah Touch Assocation
Joe Dougall-Balmain Junior Touch Association

Affiliate of the Year (Regions)

Hunter Western Hornets

Nelson Bay
Central Charlestown
City of Orange

Northern Eagles

Port Macquarie

Southern Suns

Milton Ulludulla

Sydney Mets

Balmain Juniors
Lower Blue Mountains
Western Suburbs

Sydney Rebels

St George
Bankstown Sports
Sydney Universtiy
University of NSW

Sydney Scorpions

Manly Warringah
Northern Beaches
Ryde Eastwood

Administrator of the Year

Hunter Western Hornets

Matthew Sawyer-Peninsula
Melinda Walls-Maitland
Tracee Livingstone-City of Orange
Kathy Lang-Mudgee

Northern Eagles

Alan Kirchen-Ballina
Min Cotter-Port Macquarie
Craig Englert-Macksville
Mitch Alexander-Murwillumbah

Southern Suns

Ben Cooper-Young
Adam Cooper-Milton Ulladulla
Ali Day-Wollongong
Lee Browning-Avondale

Sydney Mets

Joe Dougall-Balmain Juniors
Rob Pecovnick-Lower Blue Mountains
Michael McDonald-Western Suburbs
Steve Heggarty-Concord

Sydney Rebels

Mette Kitiona-Bankstown Jets
Nathan Loveday-Bankstown Sports
Mary Watchman-Eastern Subrubs
Greg Harris-St George

Sydney Scorpions

Pam Hetherington-Parramatta
Brad Mitchell-Hills
Graham Knights-Manly Warringah
Paul Wines-Ryde Eastwood

Selector of the Year

Annette Thomas Schumacher
Don Green
Kylie Wilkinson

Coach of the Year

Mark Boland-Parramatta
Tony Trad-Western Suburbs
Michael McDonald-Western Suburbs
Barry Gibson-Manly Warrinagh

Coach of the Year-Junior

David Nolan-Penrith
Jason Martin-Manly Warringah
Edith Nathan-Newcastle City
Barry Gibson-Manly Warringah

Player of the Year-Open Female

Danni Davis-Manly Warringah
Sam Rodgers-Manly Warringah
Claire Tandek-Canterbury
Kirstie Jenkins-Canterbury

Player of the Year-Open Male

Dylan Hennessey-Western Suburbs
Ben Moylan-Penrith
Jordan Marshall-King-Parramatta
Daniel Barton-Parramatta

Player of the Year-Senior Female

Joanne Wong-Eastern Suburbs
Kirstie Wakely-Eastern Suburbs
Kelly Goodwin-Western Suburbs
Kristie Hawkes-Western Suburbs

Player of the Year-Senior Male

Garry Sonda-Western Suburbs
Chris Jonson-Eastern Suburbs
Mark Hearnden-Wollongong
Phil Jarrett-Penrith

Player of the Year-Junior Female

Brittany Clifford-Manly Warringah
Amy Dufour-Newcastle City
Jessica Potts-Newcastle City
Pihuka Duff-Newcastle City

Player of the Year-Junior Male

Tjadyn Ashby-Penrith
Jesse Parker-Parramatta
Jackson Mills-Parramatta
Marley Simbolan-Parramatta

Team of the Year

Parramatta Men’s Open
Manly Women’s Open
NSW Men’s 35
NSW Women’s 35

Region of the Year

Sydney Scorpions
Sydney Mets
Hunter Western Hornets

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest