2017 State Cup Results

That’s a wrap for the 41st edition of the NSWTA State Cup! Catch up on all the results below from finals day.

Hennessey’s Hornsby Heroics

Dylan Hennessey’s long-awaited return to Hornsby has instantly delivered silverware as the Lions defeated perennial finalists Wests Magpies. The match was a tit-for-tat affair as both teams displayed tremendous attacking flair that wowed the crowd. As the scores were level 4-4 with time running out, the attacking prowess of the Lions shone to deliver a crucial touchdown. A final defensive set to hold out the Magpies from equalising meant the Men’s Open A title returned to Hornsby for the first time since 2010.

Manly’s Triple Double

The all-conquering Manly Sea Eagles Women’s Open team have yet again produced another stellar performance in the 2017 representative season. A clinical performance in the Women’s Open A final has wrapped up their third successive Vawdon Cup and State Cup double. The match was played with plenty of grit as expected with both teams going set for set early on. Eventually the Roosters defensive wall cracked and the Sea Eagles swooped to open the scoring before putting the game out of reach for the Roosters with 4-1 the final score.

Browntown Dampens ‘Burn City

Red hot favourites Easts Roosters were put to the test in the final of the Mixed Open division as Melbourne City put on a lionheart performance. Mitchel Brown tore apart the Lions defence early on before Manu Wakely’s experience and direction proved to be key in delivering another State Cup title. The Roosters won 7-5 after narrowly missing out last year.

Eels Sting Students In Extra-time

It took a thrilling finish to separate Parramatta and Sydney University in the Men’s Open B Championship final. In a frenetic but low-scoring match, both teams could not deal the killer blow in regular time. A few opportunities were missed early on in the drop-off with both the Eels and Stingers seemingly overwhelmed by the pressure. Once down to 3-on-3, Parramatta capitalised on good field position to win 3-2 for their first Men’s Open B Championship title.

Hungry Hornets Hunt Bears

The perfect mix of youth and experience of Hills was the key to overcoming the Norths in the Women’s Open B Championship final. The contest remained close early on before the Hornets inflicted some stinging touchdowns as the score stretched out to 6-3 to put the comeback out of reach as the Bears were unable to claw their way back with time running out. Their first Women’s Open B State Cup Championship win completes a highly successive year for the Hills ladies after also taking out the respective Vawdon Cup title.

Manly Magic steals Club Championship

The Sea Eagles were soaring after winning both Club Championship titles from the 2017 Junior and Senior State Cups. The result is a true testament of the strength of the club across multiple divisions.


Championship Finals Results

Men’s Open A – Hornsby Lions 5 def. Wests Magpies 4

Player of the Final: Dylan Hennessey (Hornsby)

Women’s Open A – Manly Sea Eagles 4 def. Easts Roosters 1

Player of the Final: Chloe Cheney (Manly)

Mixed Open – Easts Roosters 7 def. Melbourne City Lions 5

Players of the Final: Manu Wakely (Easts) and Leah Percy (Melbourne City)

Men’s Open B Championship – Parramatta Eels 3 def. Sydney Uni Stingers 2

Player of the Final: Joe Ng (Parramatta)

Women’s Open B Championship – Hills Hornets 6 def. Norths Bears 3

Player of the Final: Emily Goodsir (Hills)

Men’s 20 – Newcastle City Knights 6 def. Manly Sea Eagles 5

Player of the Final: Blake Potts (Newcastle City)

Women’s 20 – Manly Sea Eagles 6 def. Northern Beaches Renegades 5

Player of the Final: Faith Nathan (Manly)

Men’s Seniors (O/30) – Murwillumbah Mavericks 4 def. Wests Magpies 3

Player of the Final: Khanui Cox (Murwillumbah)

Women’s Seniors (O/30) – Cronulla Sharks 4 def. Manly Sea Eagles 1

Player of the Final: Jessica Howe (Cronulla)

Mixed Seniors (O/30) – Murwillumbah Mavericks 9 def. Balmain Tigers 3

Players of the Final: Aaron Jones (Murwillumbah) and Serena Albert (Murwillumbah)

Men’s Masters (O/40) – Wests Magpies 7 def. Easts Roosters 3

Player of the Final: Jack Jardim (Wests)

Women’s Masters (O/40) – Manly Sea Eagles 3 def. Peninsula Piranhas 2

Player of the Final: Belinda Patterson (Manly)

Mixed Masters (O/40) – Murwillumbah Mavericks 6 def. Peninsula Piranhas 4

Players of the Final: Craig Shearer (Murwillumbah) and Helen Bower (Murwillumbah)

Men’s 50 – Northern Beaches Renegades 3 def. Newcastle City Knights 0

Player of the Final: Paul Saldern (Northern Beaches)

Men’s 55 – Manly Sea Eagles 3 def. Penrith Panthers 2

Player of the Final: Phil Young (Manly)


Club Championship

1st – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (149 points)

2nd – Western Suburbs Magpies (119 points)

3rd – Eastern Suburbs Roosters (105 points)


Ron Andrews Cup (Country Club Championship)

Winner – Wollongong Devils


To find out the results of all divisions and competitions, please view here.

The 2018 State Cup will be held on Friday 7th, Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th of December 2018 in Port Macquarie.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest