Thats a wrap for the 2018 State Cup

Doyalson Dragons – the WINX of Touch

They have completed the perfect trifecta – Country Championships, Vawdon Cup and now a State Cup title all in a Calendar year. In a Vawdon Cup Grand Final rematch, Dragons scored early and the dominance of the Doyalson Men’s team just seemed to flow non from that very moment.  Parramatta created opportunities early on, however were unable to execute against a team that was too strong on both sides of the ball.  Doyalson showed today why they have been the most consistent if not the best team in NSW in the last 4 years

View the entire match here

The Doggies are back in town

It was a repeat of 2014 which saw the Canterbury Bulldogs and Easts Roosters face off in this years Grand Final. The Bulldogs came out early with a quick try from Claire Tandek and from there on in, Canterbury dominated keeping their opponents to zero.  It wasn’t that the Roosters had tried they were just outclassed by a team with the perfect mix of youth and experience.  Captain Louise Winchester was over the moon ” I was loving the early start we came out firing but the girls deserved it.  Its cliche really and represents the hard work we have put in over the years”

View the entire match here

The Mixed Master does it again

Red hot favourites Easts Roosters came out strong in the first half against the Murwillumbah Mavericks and showed no signs of stopping.  The Mavericks were not going to let the Roosters have it easy but the Roosters defence was just too strong and Manu Wakely showed once again that experience and direction proved to be key in delivering another State Cup title. The Roosters took the win 5-4 and now go back to back State Cups. The Roosters finish off a dominating year after successfully retaining their Vawdon Cup title for the 9th consecutive year.

View the entire match here

Bullets Fire In Extra-time

It took a thrilling finish to separate Parramatta Eels and UNSW Bullets in the Men’s Open B Championship final. In a frenetic game, both teams could not deal the killer blow in regular time. Bullets had an early lead in the game 5-2 but a few defensive errors had them rattled and with a length of the field intercept from Jackson Mills and smart play from Jordan Marshall-King saw the Eels take the game to 6-6 and before we knew it, we had a drop-off. Down to 5-on-5, Bullets had the first set which saw Jamie Chan capitalise off a defensive error to score first. Parramatta now with the ball had an opportunity to score in the very next set, but it wasn’t meant to be and the win completes a highly successive year for the Bullets Men’s also taking out the respective Vawdon Cup title.

View the entire match here

Roosters too good for Eels 

Both teams were made up of up and coming youth but the Roosters were too good on the day.  Both teams came out hard and fast, showing that both teams were here to play. It wasn’t until the halfway mark that saw a little basketball pass to Morgan saw the Roosters score. Parramatta had several chances to get back in the game but missed a few opportunities. The Roosters had speed to burn and their defence was outstanding and kept Parramatta at bay.

View the entire match here

Championship Finals Results

Men’s Open A – Doyalson 10 Def. Parramatta 2

Player of the Final: Jake Fitzpatrick (Doyalson)

Women’s Open A – Canterbury 6 Def. Easts Roosters 0

Player of the Final: Claire Tandek (Canterbury)

Mixed Open – Easts Roosters 5 Def. Murwillumbah Mavericks 4

Players of the Final: Manu Wakely (Easts) and Sammy Jo Curtis (Murwillumbah)

Men’s Open B Championship – UNSW Bullets 7 Def. Parramatta Eels 6

Player of the Final: Christian Frost (UNSW)

Women’s Open B Championship – Easts Roosters 2 Def. Parramatta Eels 0

Player of the Final: Bella Kable (Easts)

Men’s 20 – Peninsula 5 Def. Hills Hornets 4

Player of the Final: Sandon Smith (Peninsula)

Women’s 20 – Manly Sea Eagles 11 Def. Macksville 4

Player of the Final: Lucy McDonald (Manly)

Men’s Seniors (O/30) – Murwillumbah Mavericks 7 Def. Wests Magpies 1

Player of the Final: Nathan Jones (Murwillumbah)

Women’s Seniors (O/30) – Wests Magpies 6 Def. Cronulla Sharks 5

Player of the Final: Tina Mohi (Wests)

Mixed Seniors – Balmain Tigers 3 Def. Doyalson 1

Players of the Final: Nathan McLachan (Balmain) and Johanne Joet (Balmain)

Men’s Masters (O/40) – Penrith Panthers 4 Def. Jerrabomberra 1

Player of the Final: Darren Reynoldson (Penrith)

Women’s Masters (O/40) – Jerrabomberra 5 Def. Easts Roosters 1

Player of the Final: Natalie Taffs (Jerrabomberra)

Mixed Masters (O/40) –  Peninsula Piranhas 6 Def Forster Tuncurry 3

Players of the Final: Rodney Dillon (Peninsula) and Natalie Roese (Forster)

Men’s 50 – Manly Sea Eagles 3 Def. Cronulla Sharks 1

Player of the Final: Edward Fong (Manly

Men’s 55 – Manly Sea Eagles 8 Def. Ballina Bullsharks 1

Player of the Final:  Garry Simmons (Manly)


Club Championship

1st – Eastern Suburbs Roosters (155 points)

2nd – Manly Sea Eagles (136 points)

3rd – Canterbury Bulldogs (115 points)

Ron Andrews Cup (Country Club Championship)

Winner – Wollongong Devils


To find out the results of all divisions and competitions, please view here.

The 2019 State Cup will be held on Friday 6th, Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th of December 2019 in Port Macquarie.


Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest