Vawdon Cup Grand Finalist Announced

NSW Touch Football would like to congratulate all teams for participating in the 2017 Vawdon Cup. With the preliminary finals now concluded and Grand Finals scheduled for Saturday 28th October at Canterbury Velodrome Earlwood commencing at 11.00am.

The Doyalson Dragons are into their first Men’s Premier League championship game after over coming a spirited Hornsby Lions outfit led by the mercurial Dylan Hennessey on Friday evening. The return of the Dylan Thompson, -Scott Bundy one two punch for the Dragons proved to be too much for the Lions. The Dragons will be taking on minor premiers the Parramatta Eels after they out-muscled the Wests Magpies in a see-sawing contest.

The Eels and Dragons will match up on Saturday 28th October at Canterbury Velodrome at 5.30pm and now broken the dynasty of Wests Magpies and Penrith Panthers grand finals of the past three years.

In the Women’s Premier League the Manly Sea Eagles proved to strong for the Wests Magpies and hustled them into submission. Whilst the Manly Sea Eagles performance was ominous, the most courageous performance of the night was by the Easts Roosters overcoming the silky skills of Louise Winchester and her Canterbury Bulldogs with a team decimated by injuries and unavailability to take finish the game with only eight players.  The leadership and execution of play by Roosters linchpin Ash Quinlan had the Doggies at six’s and seven’s.

The Sea Eagles and Roosters will now match up on Grand Final Day, with the game commencing at 3.35pm.

In the Mixed Open Division 1 will see rivals Easts Roosters face off against the Wests Magpies. The Roosters have been the team to beat all year led by Mr Mixed- Manu Wakely. The Magpies are up for the challenge after overcoming the Canterbury Bulldogs in a comprehensive victory.

For further information in relation to all Grand Finals please see below;

Time Field Division Team Vs. Team
11:00:00 AM 1 IPL  Hills Hornets Vs.  Manly Sea Eagles
11:00:00 AM 2 MD2P LBM Rangers  Vs.  St George Dragons
11:00:00 AM 3 MD4 Hornsby Lions Vs.  Sydney University Stingers
11:00:00 AM 4
Time Field Division Team Vs. Team
11:55:00 AM 1 MX2 Westmead Hawks Vs. Appin Warriors
11:55:00 AM 2 IPLP  Penrith Panthers Vs. LBM Rangers
11:55:00 AM 3 GYL2 Central Coast Dolphins 2 Vs. Carlingford Cyclones
11:55:00 AM 4 MD1P Canterbury Bulldogs Vs. Parramatta Eels
Time Field Division Team Vs. Team
1:10:00 PM 1 WD1 Hills Hornets  Vs. Manly Sea Eagles
1:10:00 PM 2 BYL1 West Magpies Vs.  LBM Rangers
1:10:00 PM 3 MD2  Cronulla Sharks  Vs. Easts Roosters
1:10:00 PM 4
Time Field Division Team Vs. Team
2:05:00 PM 1 MD1 UNSW Bullets Vs. Hills Hornets
2:05:00 PM 2 GYL1 Central Coast Dolphins 1 Vs. Manly Sea Eagles
2:05:00 PM 3 WD2 Bankstown Sports Vs.  Carlingford Cyclones
2:05:00 PM 4 BYL2 Easts Roosters Vs.  Bankstown Jets
Time Field Division Team Vs. Team
3:35:00 PM 1 WPL  Manly Sea Eagles  Vs. Easts Roosters
Time Field Division Team Vs. Team
4:30:00 PM 1 MX1  Easts Roosters Vs. Wests Magpies
4:30:00 PM 2 MD3 South West Sydney Raptors Vs. Hills Hornets
4:30:00 PM 3 WD3 Balmain Tigers Vs. Hills Hornets
4:30:00 PM 4 WD1P Canterbury Bulldogs Vs. Sydney University Stingers
Time Field Division Team Vs. Team
5:30:00 PM 1 MPL  Parramatta Eels Vs. Doyalson Dragons



Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest